Posts Tagged ‘winners’

2018 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony Photos

3rd July 2018

Photos taken at the 2018 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony, on Wednesday, 27 June 2018 at the Sugar Club in Dublin, hosted by Senator David Norris, are now online.

Thanks to Tristan Hutchinson, our excellent photographer!

2016 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony Video

14th July 2016

The 2016 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony from Writers Guild of Ireland on Vimeo.

Highlights from the 2016 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony, which took place on 20 May 2016, at the Sugar Club, in Dublin. Hosted by Senator David Norris.

2014 ZeBBie Award Winners

16th May 2014

ZeBBie AwardsAt the 2014 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony tonight in the Sugar Club, Dublin the winners of 2014 ZeBBie Awards were announced:

Best Television Script

  • Ted Gannon for Deception – Episode 3

Best Radio Script

  • Philip Doherty for A Golden Triangle

Best Theatre Script

  • Mikel Murfi for The Man in The Woman’s Shoes

Best Feature Film Script

  • Ailbhe Keogan & Steph Green for Run and Jump

Best Short Film Script

  • Antoin Beag Ó Colla for Rúbaí

Congratulations to all the winners!

Entertainment was provided by the Trinitones, Trinity College Dublin’s all male acapella choir, and the event was hosted by Thomas McLaughlin.

A big thanks to our award presenters: Diarmaid Breathnach, from the Sound & Vision Scheme in the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland, Colette Kinsella, Independent Radio Producer and Chairperson of the Association of Independent Radio Producers of Ireland, Ray Yeats, City Arts Officer, Steven Galvin, Editor of Film Ireland, and Ross Keane, Director of the Irish Film Institute.

2012 ZeBBie Awards Photos

29th May 2012

Here is a selection of photographs from the 2012 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony, which was held in the Sugar Club in Dublin on Thursday, 10th May 2012:

2010 Fleadh Winners

14th July 2010

Galway Film FleadhThe winners of the 2010 Galway Film Fleadh have been announced:


The Best First Animation Award in association with the Cartoon Saloon

  • Winner: ‘Action Evader’, written, directed and produced by Pádraig Mannion
  • Honourable Mention: ‘Laurie and the Litterbugs’ & ‘We Are Detectives’

The James Horgan Award for Best Animation

  • Winner: ‘Mister Heaney – A Wee Portrait’ written, directed and produced by David Quin
  • Honourable Mention: ‘The Meaning of Eggsistence’ written and directed by Bruce Ryder and produced by Stephen Rennicks

The Tiernan McBride Award for Best Short Drama sponsored by Waveform Studios

  • Winner: ‘Noreen’ written and directed by Domhnall Gleeson and produced by Juliette Bonass, David Clarke and Ciarán Deeney
  • Honourable Mention: ‘Flatbed’ written and directed by Tom Merilion and produced by Jonny Speers

The Best First Short Drama in association with Mazars presented by Paul Mee

  • Winner: ‘Hoodie’ written, directed and produced by Patrick Finnegan
  • Honourable Mention: ‘The Crush’ written and directed by Michael Creagh and produced by Damon Quinn

The Best Short Documentary Award in association with Studio Solas Teo presented by John Brady

  • Winner: ‘Bow St.’ written, directed and produced by Tadhg O’ Sullivan
  • Honourable Mention: ‘Alibi’ written, directed and produced by Darren Bolger and Caroline Campbell


The Best Irish Feature Award in association with Volta Video on Demand presented by Karen O’Malley of Element Pictures

  • Winner: The Runway written and directed by Ian Power. Produced by Macdara Kelleher, Brendan McDonald & Bernard Michaux
  • Second Place: Snap written an directed by Carmel Winters. Produced by Martina Niland

The Best Feature Documentary

  • Winner: The Pipe written and directed by Risteard Ó Domhnaill & produced Rachel Lysaght & Risteard Ó Domhnaill
  • Second Place: Burma Soldier written and directed by Nic Dunlop, Annie Sunberg and Ricki Stern & produced by Julie le Brocquy

The Best First Feature

  • Winner: Undertow written and directed by Javier Fuentes-Leon & produced Rodrigo Guerrero & Javier Fuentes-Leon
  • Second Place: The Double Hour written by Alessandro Fabbri, Ludovica Rampoldi and Stefano Sardo, directed by Giuseppe Capotondi. Produced by Nicola Giuliano & Francesca Cima

Galway Film Fleadh Pitching Award

  • Len Collin for a project entitled Dumpailte

The Galway Film Fleadh did not acknowledge the writing credit on any of the above projects (barring the pitching award) in its press release. This matters, because their press release was picked up wholesale by all news agencies, which contributes to the invisibling of screenwriters and their contribution to the filmmaking process.