Archive for the ‘awards’ Category

2011 ZeBBie Award Winners

13th May 2011 by Maura McHugh

ZeBBie AwardsThe winners of the 2011 ZeBBie Awards were announced last night at a glittering Ceremony in the Sugar Club in Dublin:

Best Television Script
Stuart Carolan for Love/Hate

Best Radio Script
Tom Murphy for A Whistle in the Dark

Best Theatre Script
Michael West for Freefall

Best Feature Film Script
Conor Horgan for One Hundred Mornings

Best Short Film Script
Michael Creagh for The Crush

The crowd was entertained with music to start, which was followed by the awards ceremony. Senator David Norris was the splendid Master of Ceremonies for the night, ably assisted by the hilarious comedian Gary Cook.

Congratulations to the winners and all the nominees!

There was an astounding magician to entertain the crowd afterwards. Later on boxes of Domino’s Pizzas arrived, and in another act of magic they vanished almost immediately.

Many thanks to everyone who came along for making it a great night. We’re looking forward to the 2012 ZeBBies already!

FilmOffaly Award 2011

28th March 2011 by Maura McHugh

FilmbaseFilmOffaly in association with Filmbase present the FilmOffaly Award 2011.

FilmOffaly has announced the 3rd FilmOffaly Award developed to foster creative, resourceful filmmaking in Offaly. They are looking for unique, original stories by talented new filmmakers, professional and novice alike. The only stipulation is that the filming must take place in Offaly!

There will be one award to one successful applicant.

The winning applicant will receive

  • €8,000 towards the cost of their production
  • 1-year’s Filmbase membership to the Writer, Producer and Director of the winning film
  • A 50% discount on production equipment and/or editing facilities from Filmbase for the project
  • Filmbase’s production insurance to cover the shoot
  • A premier in Tullamore Omniplex Cinema

The award will be based on a two stage application process.

Download the application form and guidelines on

Stage One
Please submit a script including 500 word synopsis of the film project.

Screenplays/treatments from any genre, style, topic or perspective will be considered and judged on its merits regarding the quality of the material along with interviews and re-writes with/by the Applicant/s

Closing date: 3pm on Friday, 6 May 2011.

Offaly County Council
Charleville Road
Co. Offaly
Phone: 057 935 7400

Blue Teapot Project

23rd March 2011 by Maura McHugh

Blue TeapotAs part of the innovative Arts and Disability Networking Pilot in Galway, the Blue Teapot Theatre Company is offering professional playwrights/screenwriters a unique opportunity to create a new work to be performed by an ensemble group of eight actors with intellectual disabilities.

Integral to this project, will be the writer’s ability to absorb the actors’ unique connection to the spoken and written word. Although, this is not a devising project, we require that the writer be able to attend and lead developmental workshops with the company in Galway to explore this connection.

Ultimately we wish to see a work developed for the screen, but as a first stage, the premiere of the piece will be presented as a live performance reading in September & October 2011.

It is our intention to see this work developed into a short film in 2012, subject to future funding.

This project is also supported by Fishamble: The New Play Company. Gavin Kostick, Literary Manager, will provide developmental and dramaturgical support to the writer and Blue Teapot Theatre Company.


  • Be an established, professional writer based in Ireland
  • Attend and participate in a series of meetings & development workshops with Blue Teapot company actors and director and dramaturge, May/June 2011
  • Attend rehearsed public readings of new work – September & October 2011
  • The script to be of forty minutes duration, maximum (25 pages).
  • Rehearsal draft of script to be delivered by 15th September 2011.


Statement of Interest
Please answer, briefly, the following two questions in your statement for consideration.

  1. Why does this project appeal to you?
  2. In what way might your own artistic practice be enhanced by working with theatre practitioners with intellectual disabilities?

Please email Statement of Interest, short sample of previous work & CV to .

Deadline 15th April 2011


Blue Teapot may invite a limited number of writers to meet the group as part of the decision making process.

The selected writer will receive a fee in line with professional theatre standards.

Blue Teapot will provide for travel, accommodation and a per diem as part of the workshop process.

For further information, please contact Petal Pilley, Director, Blue Teapot Theatre 091 520 977 or email

This new writing project is being funded through the Arts & Disability Networking Pilot (Phase 2), a partnership between Arts Council, Arts & Disability Ireland and Galway City and County Councils.  The initiative is to pilot a new model of developing local capacity in the area of arts and disability in Ireland.

Oscar Winners 2011

28th February 2011 by Maura McHugh

The results of the 83rd Academy Awards were announced last night from Los Angeles’ Kodak Theatre.

Here are the writing awards:

Writing: Adapted screenplay

  • 127 Hours (Fox Searchlight) Screenplay by Danny Boyle & Simon Beaufoy
  • The Social Network (Sony Pictures Releasing) Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin
  • Toy Story 3 (Walt Disney) Screenplay by Michael Arndt Story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich
  • True Grit (Paramount) Written for the screen by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen
  • Winter’s Bone (Roadside Attractions) Adapted for the screen by Debra Granik & Anne Rosellini

Writing: Original screenplay

  • Another Year (Sony Pictures Classics) Written by Mike Leigh
  • The Fighter (Paramount) Screenplay by Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson Story by Keith Dorrington & Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson
  • Inception (Warner Bros.) Written by Christopher Nolan
  • The Kids Are All Right (Focus Features) Written by Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg
  • The King’s Speech (The Weinstein Company) Screenplay by David Seidle

Papatango New Writing Award

16th February 2011 by Maura McHugh


Papatango have teamed up with London’s Finborough Theatre to create a competition that offers four playwrights the opportunity to have their plays professionaly produced in 2011. One winner will receive a four week run at the Finborough Theatre and three runners-up will receive one week each.

The winning play will be picked by a panel of judges that will include, amongst others: Howard Davies (Director), Catherine Johnson (Writer), Neil McPherson (Artistic Director of the Finborough Theatre) Van Badham (Literary Manager of the Finborough Theatre), and Tanya Tillett (Rod Hall Agency).

The play must be an original, unproduced work, no longer than 90 minutes in length.

Please send submissions via email to:

Deadline: 1st March 2011

Details on how to enter are on the web site.