Voting Opens today for the 17th Annual Zebbie Awards 2024


Calling all Guild members!  It’s your chance, as US chat show host Johnny Carson said about the Oscars;  “to put aside your petty jealousies …and take out your really big ones!”  Or, as we prefer;  it’s an invitation to big-up your fellow Irish writers who’ve been nominated, by casting your vote (next year it’ll be all about you!).

As always, you’ll be judging scripts across seven categories; Theatre, Television Drama, Continuing Drama, Short Film, Feature Film, Radio & Audio Drama and Animation – plenty of stellar summertime reading right there! 

How do I vote? 

Go to and once you’ve signed in, you’ll find all the nominated scripts (see at-a-glance list below).

You’ve got 18 days (plenty of time) to read the scripts and cast your votes.  The voting window closes midnight Sunday 28th July.

The Zebbies 2024 Awards ceremony will then take place on Tuesday, 3rd September at The Sugar Club, hosted once again by the multi-hyphenate Tara Flynn!

The Nominees for the Zebbies 2024 Awards are; 

Best Short Film Script

Good Chips – Nell Hensey, Brigid Leahy

Wind and The Shadow – Kris Kelly 

Yellow Belt – Alan O’Gorman, Allyn Quigley

Best Animation Script

Lu & The Bally Bunch; “Grow Lines” – Shane Langan, Amy Stephenson

Forever Eleventeen – Sian Ní Mhuirí

Worry World – Hugh O’Conor 

Best Radio & Audio Drama Script

Carthanacht Chlíodhna – Dorothy Cotter, Cillian O’Donnachadha

High Spirits – Méabh de Brún

Antigone – Colin Murphy

Best Continuing Drama Script

Doctors [Series 24, Ep 91] – Caitriona Daly

Fair City [Series 34, Ep 114] – Maria Hickey

Ros na Rún [Sraith 28, Mír 4] – Eoin MacDiarmada

Best Theatre Script

Quake – Janet Moran

The United States vs Ulysses – Colin Murphy

Gold in the Water – Shane O’Reilly, Paul Curley, Denis Clohessy

Best TV Drama Script

Falling for The Life of Alex Whelan – Nell Hensey

Obituary [Series 1, Ep 1] – Ray Lawlor

Smother [Series 3, Ep 5] – Nessa Wrafter

Best Feature Film Script

Ann – Ciaran Creagh

Lies We Tell – Elisabeth Gooch

Baltimore – Christine Molloy, Joe Lawlor

Next article