Voting Now Open for the 16th Annual Zebbie Awards


“At the Writers Guild of Ireland, we are incredibly proud of the work that our members do. It is our privilege to hold the annual Zebbie Awards to recognise and celebrate the best writing for stage, screen and radio across seven categories. This year, more than ever, we want to celebrate the talent of Irish writers and remind everyone of the brilliant creative minds behind your favourite films, plays, radio dramas and tv shows. Congratulations to all our nominees. We can’t wait to celebrate with you in October.” Jennifer Davidson, Chair WGI

Voting is open to all Guild members – go to Voting will close on Friday 22nd September at 5pm sharp.

The awards ceremony will take place on Tuesday, 17th October at The Sugar Club, hosted once again by Tara Flynn

The nominees for this year’s awards are; 

Best TV Drama Script

  • Bad Sisters Series 1 – Episode 1 The Prick – Sharon Horgan
  • Derry Girls Series 3 – Episode 7 The Agreement – Lisa McGee
  • Conversations with Friends – Episode 9 – Mark O’Halloran

Best Feature Film Script

  • An Cailín Ciúin – Colm Bairéad
  • Aisha – Frank Berry
  • Lakelands – Robert Higgins & Patrick McGivney

Best Animation Script

  • Monster Loving Maniacs – Episode 6 Jump Scares – Sian Ní Mhuirí 
  • Fia’s Fairies – The Little Lost Gráinneog – Jody O’Neill
  • Best & Bester – Episode 1 The Trivialist Pursuit – Amy Stephenson & Shane Langan

Best Short Film Script

  • Wednesday’s Child – Caroline Harvey
  • Lambing – Katie McNeice
  • Lamb – Sinéad O’Loughlin

Best Radio Drama Script

  • Morning Coffee – Dermot Bolger
  • Eggsistentialism – Joanne Ryan
  • Skewed – Sarah-Jane Scott

Best Theatre Script

  • The Asylum Workshop – Colin Murphy
  • Heaven – Eugene O’Brien
  • Lie Low – Ciara Elizabeth Smyth

Best Continuing Drama Script

  • Fair City Series 33 – Episode 106 – Carmel Callan
  • Fair City Series 33 – Episode 31 – Maria Hickey
  • Fair City Series 33 – Episode 108 – Thomas McLaughlin

Next article