Posts Tagged ‘nominations’

WGI AGM 2017

26th April 2017

Writers Guild of IrelandThe 15th Annual General Meeting of the WGI will take place at 2.30 pm on 20 May 2017 in the Huntely Room, first floor, at the Central Hotel, 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2.

Nominations to vacant places on the Board of Directors, proposed by a member entitled to vote at the AGM, together with a note of consent to be so nominated from the nominee, should reach the Company Secretary at Arthouse, Curved Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2 not later than 5.00 pm on 17 May 2017.

A form of proxy has been sent to you by email, which may be used if a member is unable to attend the AGM. Completed proxy forms should reach the Company Secretary at Arthouse, Curved Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2 by 5.00 pm on 18 May 2017.

Additional copies sent by post may be requested from the office by email or by phone: (01) 670 9970.

2012 ZeBBie Awards Short-List

13th April 2012

ZeBBie AwardsThe IPSG is delighted to announce the short-list of nominees for the 2012 ZeBBie Awards:

Best Television Script

  • Ronan Bennett for Hidden, Episode 1
  • Stuart Carolan for Love/Hate, Episode 6
  • Damien Owens for Trivia, Episode 1

Best Radio Script

  • Carlo Gébler for Charles and Mary
  • Joe O’Byrne for The Blue Hyacinth
  • Karl O’Neill for Think Well, O Singer

Best Theatre Script

  • Nancy Harris for No Romance
  • Pat Kinevane for Silent
  • Mark O’Halloran for Trade

Best Feature Film Script

  • Ciarán Creagh for Parked
  • Terry McMahon for Charlie Casanova
  • Juanita Wilson for As If I Am Not There

Best Short Film Script

  • Claire Dix for Downpour
  • Phil Harrison for Even Gods
  • Colin Thornton for Two Hearts

Congratulations to all the nominees!

ZeBBie Awards Ceremony

The winners will be announced at the ZeBBie Awards Ceremony on Thursday, 10th May 2012, at the Sugar Club, in Dublin. Doors open at 7.30pm, and the ceremonies begin at 8.00pm.


Ticket(s) for the awards ceremony may be purchased online. Tickets cost €15 for IPSG members, and €25 for non-members. Ticket price includes food and entertainment.

Purchased tickets can be collected at the Sugar Club door on the evening of the Awards Ceremony.

Numbers are limited, so please book tickets quickly. Tickets may be available for purchase at the door on the night, subject to availability.

No one will be admitted to the Awards Ceremony without a ticket.

Dress Code: writer chic.


Voting is now open on the short-list and IPSG members should have received an email with details on how to vote.

Voting closes at 5pm on Monday the 23rd of April 2012.

Oscar Nominees 2011

25th January 2011

The short list of nominees for the 83rd Academy Awards have been announced, and includes the following writing categories:

Adapted screenplay

  • 127 Hours (Fox Searchlight), Screenplay by Danny Boyle & Simon Beaufoy
  • The Social Network (Sony Pictures Releasing), Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin
  • Toy Story 3 (Walt Disney), Screenplay by Michael Arndt. Story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich
  • True Grit (Paramount), Written for the screen by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen
  • Winter’s Bone (Roadside Attractions), Adapted for the screen by Debra Granik & Anne Rosellini

Original screenplay

  • Another Year (Sony Pictures Classics), Written by Mike Leigh
  • The Fighter (Paramount), Screenplay by Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson. Story by Keith Dorrington & Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson
  • Inception (Warner Bros.), Written by Christopher Nolan
  • The Kids Are All Right (Focus Features), Written by Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg
  • The King’s Speech (The Weinstein Company), Screenplay by David Seidler

Irishman Michael Creagh’s short documentary ‘The Crush’ has been nominated in the ‘Best live action short film’ category.

A full list of all the nominees is available on the web site.

2011 Irish Times Theatre Awards Shortlist

17th January 2011

Irish Theatre AwardsOn Saturday The Irish Times revealed the nominations for its annual Irish Theatre Awards.

Here are the nominations for Best New Play

  • What’s Left of the Flag by Jimmy Murphy – directed by Charlie Bonner for Theatre Upstairs @ the Plough
  • Slattery’s Sago Saga by Arthur Riordan – directed by Jo Mangan for Performance Corporation
  • National Anthem by Colin Bateman – directed by Rachel O’Riordan for Ransom Theatre Company
  • B for Baby by Carmel Winters – directed by Mikel Murfi for the Abbey Theatre

The panellists for the selection process were: Jack Gilligan, former arts officer with Dublin City Council; Christine Madden, journalist and dramaturge; and artist Bernadette Madden.

The awards will be presented on February 27th.