Posts Tagged ‘industry’

Cuirt Playwright Discussion

30th March 2011 by Maura McHugh

Cúirt 2011

As part of the Cúirt International Festival of Literature playwrights Stacey Gregg and Nancy Harris will discuss their work with Dr Patrick Lonergan at 18:00 13 April, 2011 in the Town Hall Theatre in Galway.

Dr. Lonergan lectures at NUI Galway, and writes about Irish theatre for many publications, including The Irish Times and Irish Theatre Magazine. In 2008, he won the Theatre Book Prize for Theatre and Globalization: Irish Drama in the Celtic Tiger Era. He is also director of the Synge Summer School for Irish Drama, which takes place this year in County Wicklow from 30th June to 3rd July.

Stacey Gregg’s first play was shortlisted for the Royal Court Young Writer’s Festival. Since then she has written for Tinderbox Belfast, The Bush London, Rough Magic, The Abbey in conjunction with the Goethe Institut, and was part of Paines Ploughes Come to Where I’m From season. She was previously on attachment at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, London and is currently on attachment at the National Theatre Studio, London. Her first full production, PERVE will open in 2011 at The Peacock, Dublin. Stacey also writes for TV and is currently developing a series for the BBC.

Nancy Harris was born and raised in Dublin. In 2004, she completed the M.Phil on Playwrighting Studies at Birmingham University. She is currently the Pearson Playwright in Residence 2011 at the Bush Theatre, London. Theatre credits include The Kreutzer Sonata, (Gate Theatre, London), Little Dolls (Bush Theatre Broken Space Season), Love in a Glass Jar (Abbey Theatre 20 Love Season). She has also been a writer on attachment at the Soho Theatre and National Theatre Studio, London, respectively. Her radio credits include Love in a Glass Jar and the five-part Woman’s Hour drama series Blood in the Bridal Shop, co-written with Louise Ramsden, both for BBC Radio 4. Nancy has also written for television. Her latest play, No Romance, currently running at the Abbey Theatre, is receiving excellent reviews.

Admission: €8.00/€6.00

President’s Address at IFTA Awards

17th February 2011 by Maura McHugh

President Mary McAleese’s speech at the Irish Film & Television Awards 2011, with an introduction by actor Pierce Brosnan.

She discusses the importance of storytelling and the creative arts to Ireland’s future.

GFC Award Info Session

15th February 2011 by Maura McHugh

Galway Film CentreThe deadline for The Galway Film Centre short script awards in association with RTÉ is March 11th. There will be 2 awards of €9500 up for grabs for the 2 short scripts picked.

To help applicants get an inside scoop on the awards and the application process the GFC is holding an info session this 2pm on Friday February 18th in the building in Cluain Mhuire on the Wellpark Road.

The event will consist of short film screenings, as well as a panel type session with the following speakers (including past winners of the Award):

  • The script readers
  • Eilish Kent, RTÉ
  • Declan Gibbons, Galway Film Centre Manager
  • Conor Ferguson,writer/director of The Wednesdays
  • James Phelan, writer/director of The Ottoman Empire
  • David Freyne, writer/director of Passing
  • Pat Comer director/producer of The Day Trippers
  • Thomas Hefferon, co-writer/director of Switch
  • Many of the producers of these short films will also take part in the discussion.

This is an opportunity to learn more about the process and also there will be plenty of time for questions.

How to Reserve place: This Information session is free and all are welcome, but places are limited and you need to RSVP by emailing or phoning 091-770748.

BAFTA Winners 2011

14th February 2011 by Maura McHugh

The winners of the 2011 BAFTA Film Awards were announced last night in London. Here are the writing awards short-lists and the winners:

Original Screenplay

THE KING’S SPEECH – David Seidler
Watch the winner’s interview

BLACK SWAN – Mark Heyman, Andrés Heinz, John McLaughlin
THE FIGHTER – Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy, Eric Johnson
INCEPTION – Christopher Nolan
THE KIDS ARE ALL RIGHT – Lisa Cholodenko, Stuart Blumberg

Adapted Screenplay

Watch the winner’s interview

127 HOURS – Danny Boyle, Simon Beaufoy
THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO – Rasmus Heisterberg, Nikolaj Arcel
TOY STORY 3 – Michael Arndt
TRUE GRIT – Joel Coen, Ethan Coen

IFTA Winners 2011

14th February 2011 by Maura McHugh

IFTA 2011The winners of the 8th annual Irish Film and Television Awards were announced on Saturday at a live televised ceremony from the Dublin Conference Centre.

Juanita Wilson won both the best film director award and the best feature film screenplay award for As If I Am Not There (Octagon Films). The film also won the Best Film Award.

Stuart Carolan won the best television writer award for Love/Hate (Octagon Films).

A full list of all the winners is available on the web site.