Posts Tagged ‘film’

Video Highlights of 2018 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony

16th August 2018

Enjoy the video highlights from the 2018 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony from Writers Guild of Ireland on Vimeo.

Thanks to Garreth Caulfield, who shot and edited the film.

Amplify Women Harassment Toolkit

17th November 2017

The Amplify Women Harassment Toolkit is a simple guide to help freelance workers and employees of any gender if they are experiencing bullying or harassment. It provides advice on making a complaint at work, or a criminal complaint, and includes useful information on who to contact and links to further information.

You can download the document here.

One of the main themes of these recent revelations is widespread abuse of power and position, across many different sectors. Many of the individuals speaking about their experiences felt disempowered and, in some cases, frightened to take steps to report the issues they were experiencing. We want this Toolkit to show people that they are supported.

Amplify Women is an umbrella group of organisations who represent, or carry out research about women working in the cultural and media industries. The organisations distributing and endorsing this initiative are: Women in Film & Television, Irish Equity, Women in Animation, Members of #WakingTheFeminists, The Writers’ Guild of Ireland, Broadly Speaking, Screen Producers Ireland, Screen Directors Guild of Ireland, and Women On Air.

2017 ZeBBie Award Winners

28th June 2017

The Writers Guild of Ireland have announced the winners of the 2017 ZeBBie Awards at their Awards Ceremony at The Sugar Club in Dublin this evening:

Best Television Script

  • Sharon Horgan for Divorce (Pilot ep.)

Best Radio Script

  • Kate Gilmore for The Wickedness of Oz

Best Theatre Script

  • Margaret McAuliffe for The Humours of Bandon

Best Feature Film Script

  • Colin Thornton & Darren Thornton for A Date for Mad Mary

Best Short Film Script

  • Natasha Waugh for Terminal

Best Game Script

  • Christopher Conlan for The Little Acre

Congratulations to the winners!

Best wishes to all the nominees on being acknowledged for their hard work in the industry. We appreciate the help of all the theatre companies, production companies, producers, agents, and helpful admin who have aided us in bringing the event together.

Our thanks to Senator David Norris for his ebullient hosting of the event, and to the presenters for their contribution to the ceremony.

Plus, a big cheer to our staff and volunteers for all their hard effort!

About the ZeBBie Awards

The ZeBBie Awards are annual awards created by the WGI — named in honour of O. Z. Whitehead — to acknowledge the best script(s) written by Irish playwrights and screenwriters during the previous year.

2016 ZeBBie Award Winners

25th May 2016

At the ZeBBie Awards Ceremony tonight at The Sugar Club in Dublin, hosted by Senator David Norris, the Writers Guild of Ireland announced the winners of the 2016 ZeBBie Awards:

Best Television Script

Best Radio Script

Best Theatre Script

Best Feature Film Script

Best Short Film Script

Best Game Script

Congratulations to all the winners!

We’d like to thank our hard-working staff, our helpers, all the nominees and their agents/producers, as well as the presenters of the awards.

As usual our thanks to Senator David Norris for his memorable hosting skills, and to The Sugar Club Dublin for the fabulous venue.

2016 ZeBBie Awards Nominees

8th April 2016

The Writers Guild of Ireland is delighted to announce the nominees for the 2016 ZeBBie Awards:

Best Television Script

  • Marcus Fleming for An Klondike, episode 4
  • Billy Roche for Clean Break, episode 4
  • Colin Teevan for Charlie, episode 2

Best Radio Script

  • Ronan Bennett for Our Sea
  • Bernard Farrell for Greta at the Gresham
  • Elizabeth O’Neill for Ghostbike

Best Theatre Script

  • Stacey Gregg for Scorch
  • Barry McStay for Our Island
  • Abbie Spallen for Lally the Scut

Best Feature Film Script

  • Will Collins for Song of the Sea
  • Simon Fitzmaurice for My Name is Emily
  • Mark Noonan for You’re Ugly Too

Best Short Film Script

  • Ben Conway for Looks Like Rain
  • Matthew Roche for Blight
  • Brian Rossney for Trench (In the Valley of the Moon)

Best Game Script

  • Oli Garland, Steve Gregan, Colm Larkin, and Fred Mangan for Guild of Dungeoneering
  • Dave McCabe for The Darkside Detective
  • John O’Kane for Grandpa Pip’s Birthday

Congratulations to all the nominees!

ZeBBie Awards Ceremony

The 2016 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony will take place on Wednesday, 25 May 2016 in The Sugar Club, 8 Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, and it will be hosted by Senator David Norris.

Doors open at 7.30pm, and the ceremonies begin at 8.00pm.

The ceremony is free to fully paid up members of the Guild.

Dress Code: writer chic.


Voting is now open and Guild members should have received an email with details on how to vote.

Voting closes at 3pm on Friday, 22 April 2016.