Archive for the ‘Irish actors’ Category

Byrne Highlights Theatre

4th August 2009

Last week The Irish Times reported that broadcaster Gay Byrne and actor Gabriel Byrne were in Dublin to mark their appointment as honorary directors of the new Grand Canal Square Theatre in Dublin.

Construction of the theatre – designed by award-winning architect Daniel Libeskind – is expected to finish by St. Patrick’s Day next year. It will seat 2,100, making it the largest theatre in Dublin.

Gabriel Byrne, who was recently nominated for an Emmy for his role as a therapist in In Treatment , highlighted the importance of the new theatre for Dublin.

“Every village, every city, needs a theatre. It’s not just a building; it’s about being exposed to new ideas. Theatre changes the way we view society and connects us to global ideas. In the past, we’ve suffered from being closed off.

“The theatre is seriously important for who we are. In the past, the most important building in a village was a church,” the actor added. “A theatre can be as powerful as a church, but without being as controlling.”

Awards ‘09

12th January 2009

The international awards season for film and television has kicked off. Last week the National Society of Film Critics Awards were announced.

The critics picked Mike Leigh’s Happy-Go-Lucky for Best Screenplay, as well as Best Director, with the surprise pick of Best Film going to the animated feature, Waltz with Bashir, which was written and directed by Ari Folman.

Last night the Golden Globes were awarded.

Slumdog Millionaire, written by Simon Beaufoy, won Best Screenplay, garnered Best Director for Danny Boyle, and also picked up Best Motion Picture – Drama.

Irishman Colin Farrell won Best Actor in a Motion Picture – Musical Or Comedy for his performance in In Bruges.

Best Motion Picture – Musical Or Comedy was won by Vicky Cristina Barcelona, written and directed by Woody Allen, and Best Animated Feature Film went to WALL-E, which was written by Andrew Stanton & Jim Reardon, and directed by Andrew Stanton

Waltz with Bashir won Best Foreign Language Film.

Best Television Series – Drama was scooped by Mad Men.

Irishman Gabriel Byrne won the Best Actor In A Television Series – Drama for his performance in In Treatment.

Best Television Series – Musical Or Comedy was won by 30 Rock, and HBO’s John Adams won Best Mini-Series Or Motion Picture Made for Television.

Steven Spielberg was presented with the Cecil B DeMille Award for his “outstanding contribution to the entertainment field”.

O’Brien Radio Drama

28th July 2008

The Stage reports that “Your Only Man”, a new radio play written by Northern Irish novelist and screenwriter Annie Caulfield, about Irish writer Flann O’Brien, will début on BBC Radio 3 on August 31. It will feature Irish actors Ardal O’Hanlon, Pauline McLynn, and Dara O’Briain.

It focuses on the true identity of O’Brien, whose real name was Brian O’Nolan – a civil servant in Dublin during the thirties and forties, who regularly wrote for the Irish Times under the name Myles na gCopaleen.

Film Stamps

9th July 2008

An Post has released four stamps depicting some of Ireland’s best know actors, and the films in which they appeared.

Actor Cillian Murphy features in his role in The Wind that Shakes the Barley on an 82c denomination stamp. The film, directed by Ken Loach, was produced in Ireland during 2006 and awarded the Palme D’Or at that year’s Cannes Film Festival.

Actor Brid Ni Neachtáin appears on a 55c stamp from her role in Cre na Cille. Directed by Robert Quinn in 2007 as an adaptation of the famous novel by Máirtin O’ Cadhain, this film was selected for screening at the 2007 Shanghai International Film Festival. Attending the event Brid said “I’m delighted that Cré na Cille is being featured in the series, míle buíochas do An Post.”

Actor Colm Meaney appears on a 55c denomination stamp in his role in Kings. Directed by Tom Collins and based on the play Kings of the Kilburn Highroad, by Jimmy Murphy, Kings is a 2007 film featuring both the Irish and English languages and was Ireland/s official entry for Best Foreign-language Film in the 2008 Academy Awards.

Actor Pat Shortt features on an 82c denomination stamp in his role in Garage, directed by Lenny Abrahamson and written by Mark O’Halloran. Garage received four prizes at the Irish Film and Television Awards, Best Film, Best Script, Best Actor and Best Director. Garage also won the CICAE Prize at the 2007 Cannes Film Festival and Best Feature Film at the 2007 Turin Film Festival.

Tonys 2008

16th June 2008

The 2008 Tonys were handed out in New York last night, and the winners are listed on the web site.

The Best Play award went to: August: Osage County by Tracy Letts.

Irish actor, Jim Norton, best known as Bishop Brennan in Father Ted, won the Tony for Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a Play for his role as Richard in Conor McPherson’s The Seafarer.