Archive for the ‘awards’ Category

GFC Award Info Session

15th February 2011 by Maura McHugh

Galway Film CentreThe deadline for The Galway Film Centre short script awards in association with RTÉ is March 11th. There will be 2 awards of €9500 up for grabs for the 2 short scripts picked.

To help applicants get an inside scoop on the awards and the application process the GFC is holding an info session this 2pm on Friday February 18th in the building in Cluain Mhuire on the Wellpark Road.

The event will consist of short film screenings, as well as a panel type session with the following speakers (including past winners of the Award):

  • The script readers
  • Eilish Kent, RTÉ
  • Declan Gibbons, Galway Film Centre Manager
  • Conor Ferguson,writer/director of The Wednesdays
  • James Phelan, writer/director of The Ottoman Empire
  • David Freyne, writer/director of Passing
  • Pat Comer director/producer of The Day Trippers
  • Thomas Hefferon, co-writer/director of Switch
  • Many of the producers of these short films will also take part in the discussion.

This is an opportunity to learn more about the process and also there will be plenty of time for questions.

How to Reserve place: This Information session is free and all are welcome, but places are limited and you need to RSVP by emailing or phoning 091-770748.

BAFTA Winners 2011

14th February 2011 by Maura McHugh

The winners of the 2011 BAFTA Film Awards were announced last night in London. Here are the writing awards short-lists and the winners:

Original Screenplay

THE KING’S SPEECH – David Seidler
Watch the winner’s interview

BLACK SWAN – Mark Heyman, Andrés Heinz, John McLaughlin
THE FIGHTER – Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy, Eric Johnson
INCEPTION – Christopher Nolan
THE KIDS ARE ALL RIGHT – Lisa Cholodenko, Stuart Blumberg

Adapted Screenplay

Watch the winner’s interview

127 HOURS – Danny Boyle, Simon Beaufoy
THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO – Rasmus Heisterberg, Nikolaj Arcel
TOY STORY 3 – Michael Arndt
TRUE GRIT – Joel Coen, Ethan Coen

IFTA Winners 2011

14th February 2011 by Maura McHugh

IFTA 2011The winners of the 8th annual Irish Film and Television Awards were announced on Saturday at a live televised ceremony from the Dublin Conference Centre.

Juanita Wilson won both the best film director award and the best feature film screenplay award for As If I Am Not There (Octagon Films). The film also won the Best Film Award.

Stuart Carolan won the best television writer award for Love/Hate (Octagon Films).

A full list of all the winners is available on the web site.

Filmbase/RTÉ Awards 2011

27th January 2011 by Maura McHugh

FilmbaseDetails of the Filmbase/RTÉ Short Film Awards scheme, the longest running short film award scheme for filmmakers in Ireland, have been announced.

This year the awards will provide funding for four short films to be made.

Applications are initially assessed on the basis of anonymous scripts; this means that these awards provide an equal chance to all. In each round a shortlist of approximately ten projects is drawn up. Applicants are then asked to put together a production package and bring together a team for interview. Following the interviews up to two successful applicants will be offered an award per round.

With two rounds in the year, this will lead to up to four new short films being produced in 2011.

The deadline for applications: 5pm on 25th March 2011.

More details on how to apply are on the web site.

New Signatures

26th January 2011 by Maura McHugh

SignaturesBord Scannán na hÉireann/The Irish Film Board (IFB) has announced the latest teams selected for the fourth round of Signatures projects.

Signatures is the IFB’s flagship scheme for the making of short live-action fiction films that act as a proving-ground for Irish creative talents.  It is an opportunity for producers, directors and writers to work in a professional environment that will allow them to further their experience.

The following five teams of filmmakers have been awarded funding for their project.

  • Two Hearts to be written by Colin Thornton, directed by Darren Thornton and produced by Colette Farrell for Calipo Pictures.
  • Mikayla W.M.D. to be written and directed by Ciaran Foy and produced by Macdara Kelleher for Fastnet Films.
  • Foxes to be written by Garret Shanley, directed by Lorcan Finnegan and produced by Brunella Cocchiglia for Lovely Productions.
  • The Hatch to be written and directed by Mike Ahern and Enda Loughman and produced by Gary Moore for Red Rage Productions.
  • Cluck to be written and directed by Michael Lavelle and produced by Rory Dungan.