Archive for 2019

Writing for the Abbey Theatre

17th October 2019

Members are invited to meet with Louise Stephens, Dramaturg at the Abbey Theatre. This informational meeting will focus on writing plays for the Abbey Theatre and will take place on Tuesday, 29th October at 2pm at a Dublin city centre venue which will be confirmed to members who are attending.

Louise will cover the Abbey Theatre’s processes around working with writers from unsolicited work to commissioned plays, using practical examples from recent work and with input and discussion from the Abbey’s Associate Playwrights, followed by some time for questions.

Louise Stephens is a script reader and dramaturg specialising in the development of new plays. She was the Literary Officer at the Traverse Theatre and, most recently, Deputy Literary Manager of the Royal Court Theatre. As a freelancer, she has worked on plays and read scripts for theatre companies, competitions and prizes throughout the UK and Ireland and worked on a number of award-winning theatre pieces with both playwrights and writer-performers. She has a PhD focusing on rehearsal room processes from the University of St Andrews.

Members who wish to attend this meeting should email: with ‘Abbey Theatre meeting’ in the subject line. Seats will be allocated on a first come, first served basis.

Information on writing plays for the Abbey Theatre can also be found on their website:

Scheme for Professional Artists on Jobseeker’s Allowance

16th October 2019

The Writers’ Guild of Ireland are pleased to announce to members that the Scheme for Professional Artists on Jobseeker’s Allowance has now been extended to our members. The Scheme now recognises scriptwriters as professional artists and is designed to support writers and artists during times when their incomes are low.

According to the regulations of the Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection, in order to apply for this scheme, you need to fulfil certain criteria. You must:

  • qualify for Jobseeker’s Allowance
  • be capable, available for and genuinely seeking work
  • be registered with the Office of the Revenue Commissioners as self-employed
  • satisfy a means test with 50% earnings from work as a writer
  • be a professional writer as certified by your Guild

If you meet the requirements as outlined above, these are the steps you should take.

Request from the Guild a ‘Certificate of Professional Membership’ (email: This Certificate will be posted to any member in good standing who requests it. Please note that members must bring hard copies of the Certificate, which are certified and stamped by the WGI, to their local DEASP office. For this reason Certificates will be sent to members by post and not by email.
Apply to your local DEASP office for the Jobseeker’s Allowance for Professional Artists Scheme, providing them with the ‘Certificate of Professional Membership’ and any other paperwork relevant to your application.
Should you encounter any difficulties, please feel free to contact the Guild and we’ll do our best to advise you.

If the DEASP give you access to this Scheme, this means that they recognise that you are a professional writer and your ‘activation’ period will be postponed for 12 months while you’re on this scheme. The rate of payment is the same as for Jobseeker’s Allowance.

Further information:

The 2019 Writers Guild of Ireland ZeBBie Awards

15th August 2019

The 2019 Writers Guild of Ireland ZeBBie Awards took place on Wednesday, 19th June at The Sugar Club in Dublin and was hosted by Senator David Norris.

The ZeBBie Awards are annual awards created by the WGI — named in honour of O. Z. Whitehead — to acknowledge the best script(s) written by Irish writers for film, theatre, radio and television during the previous year.

Video by Garreth Caulfield

The 2019 winners are:

Sonya Kelly

Elaine Murphy

Float Like A Butterfly
Carmel Winters

Five Letters to the Stranger Who Will Dissect My Brain
Oonagh Kearney

Derry Girls Ep.6
Lisa McGee

Space Chickens in Space – Blibli-sitting
Shane Perez

Red Rock Ep.187
Paul Walker

Keep an eye on our Facebook page for pictures from the night.

New Director

4th July 2019

The Board of the Guild has announced the appointment of Hugh Farley as its new Director following the departure of David Kavanagh.

In his career as a screenwriter Hugh served on the Board of the Guild in 2007, he has been Series Producer on ‘Red Rock’ and on ‘Ros na Rún’ and has extensive experience as a director.

He will take up the position in September.

Guild members are welcome to join David and Hugh for a drink at the Palace Bar (upstairs), 21 Fleet Street, Dublin 2 from 7pm on Thursday 11th July.


8th May 2019

The writers who have been nominated in all seven categories of the 2019 ZeBBie Awards have now been announced. Warmest congratulations to all of the Nominated writers.

This year we have two new awards: Animation and Continuing Drama.

Members will read the nominated scripts and cast their votes.

The 2019 ZeBBie Awards will take place on Wednesday 19th June in Dublin and will be hosted by Senator David Norris.

The full list of nominations:


Northern Lights

Stephen Jones


Sonya Kelly

The Man Who Fell to Pieces

Patrick J. O’Reilly


Good Night Irene

Jennifer Johnston

Wild West

Emmet Kirwan


Elaine Murphy


The Dig

Stuart Drennan

The Ranger (produced as Black ’47)

PJ Dillon, Pierce Ryan, Eugene O’Brien

Float Like A Butterfly

Carmel Winters


Five Letters to the Stranger Who Will Dissect My Brain

Oonagh Kearney

I Didn’t..I Wasn’t..I Amn’t

Laoisa Sexton

Boy Saint

Tom Speers


Young Offenders Ep.6

Peter Foott

Women on the Verge Ep.1

Sharon Horgan (& Lorna Martin)

Derry Girls Ep.6

Lisa McGee


Peek Zoo – Cheeky Monkeys

Emma Hogan

Claude – Twinkle Toes Terry

Maria O’Loughlin

Space Chickens in Space – Blibli-sitting

Shane Perez


Ros na Rún S.22 Ep.54

Gemma Breathnach

Fair City S.29 Ep.59

Clare Dowling

Red Rock Ep.187

Paul Walker