Archive for 2018

Venice Declaration

3rd September 2018 by Maura McHugh

165 European screenwriters and directors call on the European Parliament to adopt the Copyright Directive

On the occasion of the 75th Venice International Film Festival, 165 screenwriters and directors across Europe have come together in the “Venice Declaration” to call on the European Parliament to adopt legislation that puts authors at the heart of copyright and of the European cultural and creative industries, including online.

On 12 September, the members of the European Parliament will adopt the Parliament’s position on the draft Directive on Copyright in the Digital Single Market. After several delays, this vote is the last chance for a final adoption of this much-needed Directive before the European elections. It will determine the future for audiovisual authors; if they will have a chance to receive fair and proportionate remuneration for the use of their works across the EU in a near future or if will they be left behind for another decade.

Filmmakers in Venise selections Jacques Audiard, Joachim Lafosse, Mike Leigh, Laszlo Nemes and Pierre Schoeller, EP LUX Film Prize finalists Benedikt Erlingsson, Wolfgang Fischer and Mila Turajlic, as well as Iciar Bollaín, Costa-Gavras, Matteo Garrone, Agnieszka Holland, Daniele Luchetti, Laura Morante, Cristian Mungiu, Sir Alan Parker, Stefan Ruzowitzky, Lone Scherfig, Volker Schlondörff, Paolo Sorrentino, Paweł Pawlikowski, Bertrand Tavernier, Paolo Taviani, Fernando Trueba, Margarethe von Trotta and many others across Europe signed the Venice Declaration. Most of them already signed the FERA/FSE/SAA petition supported today by more than 18,700 signatories from over 100 countries worldwide.

“We, audiovisual authors, absolutely need this Directive to be adopted on time: to ensure freedom of expression and independence of creators as well as authors’ rights. The principle of fair and proportionate remuneration, improved measures on the transparency of the exploitation and contract adjustment mechanism will make a big difference. With these provisions, the Directive will improve our position in the industry.”

Comments Off

2018 WGI AGM

29th August 2018 by Maura McHugh

The Writers’ Guild of Ireland

will take place
at 5.00 pm on Wednesday, 19 September 2018

IPSG LogoThe 16th Annual General Meeting of the Writers’ Guild of Ireland will take place at at 5.00 pm on Wednesday, 19 September 2018 in Room ‘Number 26’, Trinity City Hotel, Pearse Street, Dublin 2.

Nominations to vacant places on the Board of Directors, proposed by a member entitled to vote at the AGM, together with a note of consent to be so nominated from the nominee, should reach the Company Secretary at Arthouse, Curved Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2 not later than 5.00 pm on 17 September 2018.

A form of proxy has been sent to members via e-mail, as laid out in Clause 28 of the Articles of Association of the company, which may be used if a member is unable to attend the AGM. Completed proxy forms should reach the Company Secretary at Arthouse, Curved Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2 by 5.00 pm on 17 September 2018.

Additional copies sent by post may be requested at the office at the address above.

Prior to the AGM, at 4.00 pm in the same venue, Screen Ireland’s three project managers, Dearbhla Regan, Lesley McKimm, and Celine Haddad, will meet with WGI members to discuss Screen Ireland’s funding schemes, including recent changes to the Screenplay Development scheme.

The Writers’ Guild encourages members to attend the AGM and contribute their ideas, views, and feedback to the staff and directors of the Guild, and to meet other Guild members who will be present.

We hope to see you there!

David Kavanagh
Company Secretary
6 July 2018

Video Highlights of 2018 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony

16th August 2018 by Maura McHugh

Enjoy the video highlights from the 2018 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony from Writers Guild of Ireland on Vimeo.

Thanks to Garreth Caulfield, who shot and edited the film.

2018 GFF Special Events

4th July 2018 by Maura McHugh

There are two special events taking place at next week’s 2018 Galway Film Fleadh that will be of interest:

What do European Screenwriters Earn?
2 pm on Friday, 13 July in The Camus Suite, The Harbour Hotel, New Dock Road, Galway

David Kavanagh, Chief Executive of the Writers’ Guild of Ireland, will give a presentation about the results of a FSE/FERA recent survey detailing the income and working life of screenwriters across Europe.

Please RSVP to info @

All welcome and join us for a drink afterwards!

Accelerating Gender Equality
2 pm on Saturday, 14 July in The Galway Rowing Club, 10 Waterside, Galway

This Accelerating Gender Equality discussion panel is organised by the Equality Action Committee (EAC) of the Writers’ Guild of Ireland & Screen Directors Guild of Ireland, and Women in Film and Television Ireland.

There will be introductory remarks by filmmaker Liz Gill (Goldfish Memory), followed by a panel discussion moderated by Dr Susan Liddy (Lecturer, MIC Limerick). Members of the panel will include David Collins (Producer, Samson Films), Dr Annie Donna (Chair of Fís Éireann/Screen Ireland), Orla O’Connor (Director of National Women’s Council of Ireland) and Michael O’Keefe (CEO of Broadcasting Authority of Ireland).

All welcome!

2018 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony Photos

3rd July 2018 by Maura McHugh

Photos taken at the 2018 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony, on Wednesday, 27 June 2018 at the Sugar Club in Dublin, hosted by Senator David Norris, are now online.

Thanks to Tristan Hutchinson, our excellent photographer!