2017 ZeBBie Awards Nominees

5th May 2017

The Writers Guild of Ireland is delighted to announce the nominees for the 2017 ZeBBie Awards:

Best Television Script

  • Sharon Horgan for Divorce (Pilot ep.)
  • Graham Linehan & Sharon Horgan for Motherland (Pilot ep.)
  • Stefanie Preissner for Can’t Cope Won’t Cope (Ep. 4)

Best Radio Script

  • Lucy Caldwell for Dear Baby Mine (Ep. 1)
  • Rory Duffy for Paulo in the Underworld
  • Kate Gilmore for The Wickedness of Oz

Best Theatre Script

  • David Ireland for Cyprus Avenue
  • Margaret McAuliffe for The Humours of Bandon
  • Laurence McKeown for Green & Blue

Best Feature Film Script

  • Emma Donoghue for Room
  • Peter Foott for The Young Offenders
  • Darren Thornton & Colin Thornton for A Date for Mad Mary

Best Short Film Script

  • Graham Cantwell for Lily
  • Emmet Kirwan for Heartbreak
  • Natasha Waugh for Terminal

Best Game Script

  • Kevin Beimers for Wailing Heights
  • Christopher Conlan for The Little Acre
  • Barry Keating for Steep

Congratulations to all the nominees!

ZeBBie Awards Ceremony

The 2017 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony will take place on Wednesday, 28 June 2017 in The Sugar Club, 8 Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, and it will be hosted by Senator David Norris.

Doors open at 7.30 pm, and the ceremonies begin at 8.00 pm.

The ceremony is free to fully paid up members of the Guild.

Dress Code: writer chic.


Voting is now open and Guild members should have received an email with details on how to vote.

Voting closes at 3pm on Monday, 22 May 2017.

About the ZeBBie Awards

The ZeBBie Awards are annual awards created by the WGI — named in honour of O. Z. Whitehead — to acknowledge the best script(s) written by Irish playwrights and screenwriters during the previous year.

Write a Comment