Archive for May, 2015

2015 AGM

28th May 2015

Writers Guild of IrelandThe Writers Guild of Ireland’s Annual General Meeting will take place at 2.30pm on 20 June in Room no. 3, 2nd floor, Arthouse, Curved Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2.

Nominations to vacant places on the Board of Directors should reach the Company Secretary not later than 5pm on the 17 June, 2015.

A form of proxy may be used if a member is unable to attend the AGM. Completed proxy forms should reach the Company Secretary at Arthouse, Curved Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2 by 5pm on the 18 June, 2015.

We look forward to seeing our members on the day!

Vote in today’s referendum

22nd May 2015

Polling stations are now open in Ireland so people can vote on the following referendum proposals:

  • The Marriage Referendum, WHITE ballot paper: In this referendum, people may vote on the proposal to include a new clause about marriage in the Constitution. This new clause provides that two people may marry each other regardless of their sex.
  • The Age of Presidential Candidates Referendum, GREEN ballot paper: In this referendum, people may vote on the proposal to reduce the age at which candidates are eligible for election to the office of President from 35 to 21.

We encourage all our members to vote today and be part of our political process.

2015 ZeBBie Award Winners

20th May 2015

The Writers Guild of Ireland has announced the winners of the 2015 ZeBBie Awards at its awards ceremony in The Sugar Club, 8 Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, hosted by Senator David Norris.

Best Television Script

  • Stuart Carolan for Love/Hate – Series 5, Episode 4

Best Radio Script

  • Louise Lewis & Simon Manahan for The Churching of Happy Cullen

Best Theatre Script

  • Mark O’Rowe for Our Few And Evil Days

Best Feature Film Script

  • John Michael McDonagh for Calvary

Best Short Film Script

  • Ronan Blaney for Boogaloo and Graham

Best Game Script

  • Llaura McGee for Curtain

Honorary Services to Writers Award

  • Michael Judge & James Douglas, co-founders of the Society of Irish Playwrights

Congratulations to the winners, and well done to all the nominees.

Thanks to poet Martin Dyar for his recitations before the ceremony, and to Dominos Pizza for their much-welcomed delivery after the winners were announced.

Plus, bualadh bos to our members for turning up and celebrating the best in Irish writing tonight!

We’d also like to express our appreciation to our staff, volunteers, and committee members who worked so hard to create a memorable event.

And once again a huge thank you to Senator David Norris for his entertaining hosting of the ZeBBie Awards Ceremony.

Senator David Norris hosts the 2015 ZeBBie Awards

On Winning a ZeBBie: Claire Dix

18th May 2015

A writer and director of music videos and short films, Claire Dix won her first ZeBBie Award in 2012 for her short film Downpour. Claire took home the ZeBBie for Best Short Film Script.

“Winning the ZeBBie was a fantastic boost to my confidence as a filmmaker and scriptwriter,” Claire said. “Downpour had been doing well on the festival circuit, but, selfishly, this felt like a particularly special award as it was a nod to the script by other writers.”

A celebration of Irish rain, Downpour recalls pivotal moments in a bride-to-be’s relationship which all took place under rainfall. In addition to the ZeBBie, Downpour also took home Best Irish Short at Fastnet Short Film Festival and Best Irish Short at Foyle Film Festival along with many other accolades.

Following her success with Downpour, Claire went back to work the next year, creating another award-winning short entitled Alia, winner of the Best Irish Short at the Kerry Film Festival in 2013.

Aside from short films, Claire has also been working on two feature documentaries, the first of which, Broken Song, premiered at Jameson Dublin International Film Festival in 2013. The second film is currently being shot and will be released in 2015.

On Winning a ZeBBie: Joe O’Byrne

13th May 2015

In 2012, Joe took home the ZeBBie Award for Best Radio Script for his work entitled The Blue Hyacinth.

“The ZeBBies is a great event, as it is the one forum for celebrating the work of writers in Ireland,” Joe said. “Through the process of organising the awards and the event it is also a great resource as it is the most systematic tool for gathering information about who is writing and what is being written across a number of media.”

Centered around Hubert and Rose Derdon, this story depicts the struggle of a married man when he is unable to grieve for his wife after she passes away. The Blue Hyacinth is a beautiful creation broaching ideas on life, death, and above all, grief.

Joe has written a number of radio plays for RTÉ which include A Snail Called Sam, What Next for Hedy Lamarr, and Crash Course on Earth. He has also written and directed the stage play McKeague and O’Brien Present the Rising.

Aside from his work on the airwaves, Joe is also a playwright, screenwriter, and a director. He has been the artistic director of Co-motion Theatre Company and has written many of his own plays, including Departed, The Ghost of Saint Joan, and The Man in the Iron Mask, among others.

Currently, Joe is writing a number of episodes of the TV series Rare Earth. Additionally, he is working on a feature film called Killing Mammy.