Archive for February, 2011

Oscar Winners 2011

28th February 2011

The results of the 83rd Academy Awards were announced last night from Los Angeles’ Kodak Theatre.

Here are the writing awards:

Writing: Adapted screenplay

  • 127 Hours (Fox Searchlight) Screenplay by Danny Boyle & Simon Beaufoy
  • The Social Network (Sony Pictures Releasing) Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin
  • Toy Story 3 (Walt Disney) Screenplay by Michael Arndt Story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich
  • True Grit (Paramount) Written for the screen by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen
  • Winter’s Bone (Roadside Attractions) Adapted for the screen by Debra Granik & Anne Rosellini

Writing: Original screenplay

  • Another Year (Sony Pictures Classics) Written by Mike Leigh
  • The Fighter (Paramount) Screenplay by Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson Story by Keith Dorrington & Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson
  • Inception (Warner Bros.) Written by Christopher Nolan
  • The Kids Are All Right (Focus Features) Written by Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg
  • The King’s Speech (The Weinstein Company) Screenplay by David Seidle

Arts Council’s Project Award

24th February 2011

The deadline for the next round of the Arts Council’s Project Award is 5.30pm on Thursday, 31 March.

In advance of this deadline, the Arts Council will hold a number of information clinics, to offer advice and information on the application process.

There will be one information clinic each in Dublin, Cork, Limerick and Galway at the following dates and times:

Dublin: 1 March from 11.00 – 13.00
at Project Arts Centre (Cube)

Galway: 2 March from 11.30 – 1.30  
at Nun’s Island Theatre

Limerick: 7 March from 14.30 – 16.30    
at Belltable

Cork: 10 March from 11.30 – 13.30             
at Half Moon Theatre, Cork Opera House

Artists and organisations from all art-forms and arts practice areas that are eligible to apply are welcome to attend. No booking required. Each clinic will cover the following topics:

  • The purpose of project awards
  • Who and what is eligible
  • The application process – online services
  • The application form
  • Essential supporting material
  • Budgets
  • The assessment process
  • Terms and conditions
  • Common mistakes to avoid
  • Questions and answers

The Arts Council is offering the following project awards with a deadline of 31 March 2011:

  • Architecture Project Award
  • Arts Participation Project Award
  • Circus Project Award
  • Dance Project Award
  • Film Project Award
  • Music Project Award
  • Street Arts and Spectacle Project Award
  • Theatre Project Award
  • Traditional Arts Project Award
  • Visual Arts Project Award

For more information on each of the above awards visit the available funding section of the Arts Councils web site.

You can contact the Arts Council on 01 6180200 or email

Pink and Green Storyland

22nd February 2011

Storyland 2011RTÉ has launched the first round of voting in StoryLand, a competition for the best online drama series voted for by the public.

The first episodes from the four entries in the Pink group are now online, and voting is open until 2pm, Tuesday 1 March . Only one series can be voted for in each round.

Next Wednesday 2 March the first episodes from the four entries in the Green group will go online.

Each round the series with the least number of votes will be eliminated and the three remaining series will be commissioned to make episode two.

After two episodes the remaining series from both groups will go head to head.

The Pink Group short-list is:

  • The Outlaw Concy Ryan. Writer – Molly O’Driscoll; Director/Co-Producer – Ivan McMahon; Co-Producer – Francis Ryan
  • Street Cobra. Writer/Director – Joseph Burke; Producer – Cian Hallinan
  • Lucky Run. Writers – Colm Cafferkey, Michéal Donnellan & Eamon de Staic; Director – Colm Cafferkey; Producers – Deirdre de Grae and Eamon de Staic
  • Free House. Writer/Director – Eoin Cleland; Producers – Jessica Duggan and John McKeown.

Frameworks 2011

21st February 2011

FrameworksBord Scannán na hÉireann/The Irish Film Board (IFB) has announced the deadline for its short animation scheme Frameworks. Applications will be accepted until Friday, March 25th.

Frameworks is an established scheme for the making of animated short films which has been incredibly successful in stimulating ground-breaking new work from Irish animators. Projects selected for funding will combine creative exploration with an ability to appeal to a broad audience.

The Frameworks scheme is co-funded by BSÉ/IFB, the Arts Council and RTÉ.

Films may be made in Irish or English with Irish applications being actively encouraged.

For more information on making an application and to download an application form visit the Funding Programmes section of the website

5 Untitled Finalists

18th February 2011

UntitledThe five short-listed projects for the UNTITLED comedy script competition were announced at the opening night of the Jameson Dublin International Film Festival:

  • Rob Cawley for Accidental Death & Dismemberment
  • Gavin Burke for Brave New Movie
  • Ailbhe Keogan and Michael Kelly for Found
  • Mike Ahern and Enda Loughman (D.A.D.D.Y) for The Bogman King
  • Mark Cantan for The Good Kind

Selected from 348 entries the five teams have been be invited to write the opening scenes of their film over the duration of the festival and present their projects to the selection panel at an public interview chaired by Andrew Meehan (Development Executive, IFB) on Sunday 27th February 2011.

The selection panel is comprised of: Jameson Dublin International Film Festival Director Gráinne Humphreys; Cheryl Taylor, BBC’s Controller, Comedy Commissioning; Irish film director Paddy Breathanach; and comedy agent Caroline Chignell.