Archive for November 23rd, 2010

Transformation for One in Four

23rd November 2010 by Maura McHugh

One in fourThe charity One in Four, which offers support for women and men who have experienced sexual abuse and/or sexual violence, is running an art fair entitled ‘Transformation’ in The Atrium, Department of Justice and Law Reform, 51 St. Stephen’s Green, Dublin on November 25th.

There is free entry to the public exhibition and sale from 1pm – 7pm, and the auction is scheduled for 7.30pm to 9.30pm.

Seamus Heaney has hand-written and signed his poem ‘Limbo’ as an act of solidarity and support for One in Four. This unique and special contribution will go under the hammer this Thursday. Open bids can be placed in advance to or you can bid on the night.

Other participating artists include: Angela Anderson, John Behan, Henry Blackmore, Veronica Bolay, Michelle Boyle, John Brobbel, Paola Catizone, Elizabeth Comerford, Deborah Donnelly, Roisin Duffy, Ana Duncan, Orla Egan, James English, Willie Evesson, Brian Ferran, Sean Fingleton, Adrienne Finnerty, Mary Fitzgerald, Paul Flynn, Andrew Folan, Denise French, Michael Gemmell, Tim Goulding, Caroline Hunter, John Ironside, Charlotte Kelly, Jonathon Knuttel, Sonja Landweer, Paddy Lennon, Greg Long, Bernadette Madden, Roisin Markham, Marie Louise Martin, John Morris, Stephen McKee, Chris McMorrow, Sara McNeill, Elena Mikhailova, Fionnuala Nolan, David Nolan, Martina O’Brien, Niall O’Neill, Geraldine O’Reilly, Bettina Seitz, Kevin Sharkey, Anita Shelbourne, Rose Stapleton, Manus Walsh, Michael Wann.

The full gallery of art can be be viewed on One in Four’s Facebook page.

WGGB Awards 2010

23rd November 2010 by Maura McHugh

Writers' Guild of Great BritainOn Sunday the winners of the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards were announced:

Best Original Screenplay

Kick-Ass – Jane Goldman , Matthew Vaughn

Best First Feature-Length Screenplay

Moon – Duncan Jones, Nathan Parker

Best Television Drama Series

Being Human – Toby Whithouse

Best Television Comedy/ Light Entertainment

Getting On – Jo Brand, Joanna Scanlan (left), Vicki Pepperdine

Best Television Short-Form Drama

Occupation - Peter Bowker

Best Television Continuing Drama

Coronation Street – Peter Whalley, Carmel Morgan, David Lane, Mark Wadlow, Chris Fewtrell, Jayne Hollinson, Martin Allen, Lucy Gannon, Mark Burt, John Kerr, Damon Rochefort, Julie Jones, Jonathan Harvey, Simon Crowther, Joe Turner, Debbie Oates, Daran Little, Stephen Russell, Jan McVerry

Best Children’s Television Drama/Comedy – live action or animation

Shaun the Sheep - Richard Goleszowski, Rob Dudley, Glenn Dakin, Lucy Daniel Raby, Elly Brewer, Jimmy Hibbert, Will MacLean, John Camm, Lee Pressman, Julie Jones, Dan Berlinka, Andy Williams, David Ingham, Richard Vincent, Patrick Makin, Chris Sadler, Kieron Self, Giles New, James Henry, Nick Park, Kay Stonham, Sarah Ball, Ian Carney, Mark Daydy, Craig Ferguson, Patrick Gallagher

Best Theatre Play

Jerusalem – Jez Butterworth

Best Play for Children and Young People

The Monster Under The Bed - Kevin Dyer

Best Radio Drama

Number 10 – Jonathan Myerson

Best Radio Comedy/Light Entertainment

Mark Steel’s In Town - Mark Steel

Best Videogame Script

Red Dead Redemption – Dan Houser, Mike Unsworth

Best Non-Fiction Book

This Party’s Got To Stop – Rupert Thomson

Best Fiction Book

A Life Apart – Neel Mukherjee

Lifetime Achievement

Michael Frayn

Verity Bargate Award 2011

23rd November 2010 by Maura McHugh

Soho TheatreSoho Theatre has announced the return of the Verity Bargate Award – Soho’s competition for the best new play by an emerging writer.

They are looking for a new play that will stand out from the crowd- it might be your first script, it might be set in a kitchen or on the moon. The only limit is your imagination.

Be bold, brave, and entertaining.

The winner will receive:

  • £5000
  • The chance to have their play produced by Soho Theatre

Recent VBA winners have included In-Sook Chappell for This Isn’t Romance, Matt Charman for A Night at the Dogs and Shan Khan for Office.


The closing date for submissions is 11 March 2011.

The winner of this year’s award will receive £5000 and a residency at Soho Theatre. The prize money is in respect of an exclusive option for Soho Theatre to produce the winning play according to the Company’s standard license agreement.

The award is open to writers resident in the British Isles and Republic of Ireland.

Writers may submit one unproduced, unpublished full-length play (not shorter than 70 minutes). There is no restriction to subject matter.

The play must have a title page with the author’s name, address and telephone number as well as two SAE’s for acknowledgement letter and return of script. In addition, writers must include a CV including listing of all works written/produced, when and where. Plays will not be accepted by email.

The winner of this year’s award will be expected to attend a ceremony later in the year.

The judges’ decision is final and we cannot enter into correspondence concerning the result.

The following are not eligible: playwrights with three or more professional productions to their credit (defined as those produced under ITC/TMA/WGGB contracts), plays commissioned by Soho, previous Verity Bargate Award winners, plays that have already been rejected by Soho’s literary department.

Please send submissions to: Verity Bargate Award, Soho Theatre, 21 Dean Street, London W1D 3NE.