Archive for June 15th, 2010

Christian O’Reilly Podcast

15th June 2010

Christian O'ReillyWe’re delighted to add a podcast to our web site featuring screenwriter and ZeBBie Award-winning playwright Christian O’Reilly, who is also a member of the Irish Playwights and Screenwriters Guild.

Christian was interviewed in March by Claire O’Mahony for the Internet Radio Z103, and our thanks to Claire for allowing us to use the podcast on our web site.

This year Christian was the judge for the Eamon Keane Full Length Play award at Listowel Writers Week, and during the interview Christian describes the kind of playwriting that grabs his attention and offers insights into what makes an award-winning play.

Christian O’Reilly Interview

The podcast is permanently available on our On Writing web page.

2010 Tony Awards

15th June 2010

The winners of this year’s Tony Awards were announced on Sunday.

Here are some of the category short-lists and winners (in bold):

Best Play

  • In the Next Room (or The Vibrator Play) by Sarah Ruhl
  • Next Fall by Geoffrey Nauffts
  • Red by John Logan
  • Time Stands Still by Donald Margulies

Best Musical

  • American Idiot
  • Fela!
  • Memphis
  • Million Dollar Quartet

Best Book of a Musical

  • Dick Scanlan and Sherie Rene Scott for Everyday Rapture
  • Jim Lewis and Bill T. Jones for Fela!
  • Joe DiPietro for Memphis
  • Colin Escott and Floyd Mutrux for Million Dollar Quartet

Best Revival of a Play

  • Fences by August Wilson
  • Lend Me a Tenor by Ken Ludwig
  • The Royal Family by George S. Kaufman and Edna Ferber
  • A View from the Bridge by Arthur Miller

Best Revival of a Musical

  • Finian’s Rainbow
  • La Cage aux Folles
  • A Little Night Music
  • Ragtime