Archive for February 22nd, 2010

IT Obituary for Siobhan Miley

22nd February 2010

The Irish Times published an obituary for actress/writer Siobhan Miley at the weekend.

BAFTA Film Winners 2010

22nd February 2010

Last night the winners of the BAFTA Film Awards were announced at a ceremony in London.

The entire list of winners can be viewed on the web site, but there are the winners in the writing categories (winners in bold):

Best Original Screenplay
The Hangover – Jon Lucas, Scott Moore
The Hurt Locker – Mark Boal
Inglourious Basterds – Quentin Tarantino
A Serious Man – Joel Coen, Ethan Coen
Up – Pete Docter, Bob Peterson

Best Adapted Screenplay
District 9 – Neill Blomkamp, Terri Tatchell
An Education – Nick Hornby
In The Loop – Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche
Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire – Geoffrey Fletcher
Up in the Air – Jason Reitman, Sheldon Turner

IFTA Winners 2010

22nd February 2010

The winners of the Irish Film and Television Awards were announced on Saturday night. A full list is available from the web site.

The winners in the two writing categories are in bold:

Script Film
Billy Roche, Conor McPherson – The Eclipse (Treasure Entertainment)
John Carney, Kieran Carney – Zonad (Element Pictures)
Margaret Corkery – Eamon (Zanita Films)
Neil Jordan – Ondine (Octagon Films)

Script Television
Frank Deasy – Father & Son (Octagon Films / Left Bank Pictures)
Frank McGuinness – A Short Stay in Switzerland (BBC)
Eugene O’Brien – Pure Mule – The Last Weekend (Accomplice Television)
James Phelan – Rásaí na Gaillimhe (Great Western Films)