Writing Emmys 2009

21st September 2009

The 2009 Primetime Emmys were awarded last night in Los Angeles.

Here are the nominees and winners for the writing categories:

Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series
* Ron Weiner for 30 Rock (episode “Mamma Mia”) (NBC)
* James Bobin, Jemaine Clement and Bret McKenzie for Flight of the Conchords (episode: “Prime Minister”) (HBO)
* Jack Burditt and Robert Carlock for 30 Rock (episode: “Kidney Now!”) (NBC)
* Robert Carlock for 30 Rock (episode: “Apollo, Apollo”) (NBC)
* Matt Hubbard for 30 Rock (episode: “Reunion”) (NBC)

Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series
* Kater Gordon and Matthew Weiner for Mad Men (episode: “Meditations in an Emergency”) (AMC)
* Carlton Cuse and Damon Lindelof for Lost (episode: “The Incident”) (ABC)
* Andre Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton and Matthew Weiner for Mad Men (episode: “Six Month Leave”) (AMC)
* Robin Veith and Matthew Weiner for Mad Men (episode: “A Night to Remember”) (AMC)
* Matthew Weiner for Mad Men (episode: “The Jet Set”) (AMC)

Outstanding Writing for a Miniseries, Movie, or Dramatic Special
* Andrew Davies for Little Dorrit (PBS)
* David Simon for Generation Kill (episode: “Bomb in the Garden”) (HBO)
* Michael Sucsy and Patricia Rozema for Grey Gardens (HBO)
* Michael Strobl and Ross Katz for Taking Chance (HBO)
* Hugh Whitemore for Into the Storm (HBO)

Outstanding Writing For a Variety, Music Or Comedy Series
* The Daily Show with Jon Stewart (Comedy Central) Steve Bodow, Head Writer; Jon Stewart, David Javerbaum, Josh Lieb, Rory Albanese, Kevin Bleyer, Jason Ross, Tim Carvell, John Oliver, Sam Means, Rob Kutner, J.R. Havlan, Rich Blomquist, Wyatt Cenac, Elliott Kalan, Rachel Axler.
* Late Night with Conan O’Brien (NBC)
* Late Show with David Letterman (CBS)
* Saturday Night Live (NBC)
* The Colbert Report (Comedy Central)

Plus Irish actor Brendan Gleeson won his first Emmy award in the Outstanding Lead Actor in a Miniseries or a Movie category for his performance as Winston Churchill in the UK drama Into the Storm.

Irish director Dearbhla Walsh was awarded the Emmy for Outstanding Directing for a Miniseries, Movie or a Dramatic Special category for her work on the BBC drama Little Dorrit.

Write a Comment