Archive for September 14th, 2009

Creative Arts Emmy Winners

14th September 2009

The 2009 Creative Arts Emmys were awarded last night in Los Angeles.

There were many awards given out, but here are the nominees and winners for the writing categories:

Outstanding Writing for Nonfictional Programming
* Roman Polanski: Wanted and Desired (HBO) – written by Joe Bini, P.G. Morgan and Marina Zenovich
* American Experience (episode: “The Trials Of J. Robert Oppenheimer”) (PBS) – written by David Grubin
* American Masters (episode: “Jerome Robbins: Something To Dance About”) (PBS) – written by Amanda Vaill
* Make ‘Em Laugh: The Funny Business Of America (episode: “When I’m Bad, I’m Better–The Groundbreakers”) (PBS) – written by Michael Kantorand Laurence Maslon
* Penn & Teller: Bullshit! (episode: “New Age Medicine”) (Showtime) – written by Penn Jillette, Teller, Star Price, Rich Nathanson, Michael Goudeau, David Wechter, Cliff Schoenberg, and Sheryl Zohn

Outstanding Writing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Special
* Chris Rock for Chris Rock: Kill the Messenger (HBO) – written by Chris Rock
* 81st Annual Academy Awards (ABC)
* Louis C.K. for Louis C.K.: Chewed Up (Showtime)
* Will Ferrell for Will Ferrell: You’re Welcome America. A Last Night with George W. Bush (HBO)
* Ricky Gervais for Ricky Gervais: Out of England (HBO)

The 2009 Primetime Emmys will be awarded next Sunday, the 20th of September. They were shifted back a week to avoid a clash with MTV’s Music Awards ceremony.

Venice 66 Awards

14th September 2009

The winners have been announced at the 66th Venice Film Festival.

  • Golden Lion for best film: Lebanon by Samuel Maoz (Israel, France, Germany) – co-written by Samuel Maoz and Maoz Shmulik
  • Silver Lion for best director: Shirin Neshat for the film Zanan-e bedun-e mardan (Women Without Men) (Germany, Austria, France) – written by Shirin Neshat
  • Special Jury Prize: Soul Kitchen by Fatih Akin (Germany) – written by Fatih Akin
  • Coppa Volpi for Best Actor: Colin Firth in the film A Single Man by Tom Ford (USA) – co-written by Tom Ford and David Scearce
  • Coppa Volpi for Best Actress: Ksenia Rappoport in the film La doppia ora by Giuseppe Capotondi (Italy) – co-written by Alessandro Fabbri, Ludovica Rampoldi and Stefano Sardo
  • “Marcello Mastroianni” Award for Best New Young Actor or Actress: Jasmine Trinca in the film Il grande sogno by Michele Placido (Italy) – co-written by Doriana Leondeff, Angelo Pasquini and Michele Placido
  • “Osella” for Best Technical Contribution: Sylvie Olivé for the film Mr. Nobody by Jaco van Dormael (France) – written by Jaco van Dormael
  • “Osella” for Best Screenplay: Todd Solondz for the film Life during Wartime by Todd Solondz (USA)