Archive for July 13th, 2009

Fleadh ‘09 Winners

13th July 2009 by Maura McHugh

The Galway Film Fleadh has announced the winners of the Festival, but has omitted the writers of any of the projects.

They have been included in this list:

Best Feature Documentary
The Cove, written by Mark Monroe and directed by Louie Psihoyos

Best First Feature
Frozen River, written and directed by Courtney Hunt

Best Irish Feature
Winner: His & Hers, written and directed by Ken Wardrop
Runner Up: Swansong: Story of Occi Byrne, written and directed by Conor McDermottroe (based on his play Swanson)

Best First Animation – The James Horgan Award
Winner: “Blip”, written and directed by Sean Mullen and Ben Harper
Honourable mention: “The Office Environment”, written and directed by Mark Mullery

Best Animation
Winner: “The Polish Language”, written by Alice Lyons, and co-directed by Alice Lyons and Orla McHardy
Honourable mention: “Old Fangs”, written and directed by Adrien Merigeau
Honourable mention: “On the Quiet”, written and directed by Eamonn O’Neill

Best Short Documentary
Winner: “Christmas with Dad”, written and directed by Conor McCormack
Honourable mention: “The Knife”, written and directed by Colm Quinn
Honourable mention: “God and Napoleon”, written and directed by Ciaran Deeney

Best First Short Drama
Winner: “Thursday Afternoon”, written and directed by Manus McManus
Honourable mention: “Questions”, written and directed by Mark Noonan

Best Short Drama- The Tiernan McBride Award
Winner: “The Man Inside”, written and directed by Rory Bresnihan, based on a short story by Fernando Sorrentino
Honourable mention: “If I should fall behind”, written and directed by Morgan Bushe
Honourable mention: “Dental Breakdown”, written by Dylan Cotter and directed by Ian Power

The Pitching Award
Winner: Get the Pope pitched by Gary Mitchell
The other four pitchers were: Rory Keenan, Michael Lavelle, Steven Stubbs and Bernard Higgins.

New (and Old) Theatre

13th July 2009 by Maura McHugh

The New Theatre, Temple Bar, Dublin is hosting a celebration of established and upcoming writers throughout July and August, featuring work by P.J O’Connor (The Tailor and Ansty), Flann O’Brien ( The Poor Mouth), Arnold Fanning (Shafted) and Jane McCarthy (Epilogue).

All members of the Irish Playwrights and Screenwriters Guild are being offered a concession rate to any of the above shows. Just mention Anthony Fox at the Box Office.


13th July 2009 by Maura McHugh

Last week the Galway Film Centre launched ScreenWest, a one-stop resource for information and guidance about audiovisual production in the West of Ireland.