Archive for May 25th, 2009

Ustinov TV Scriptwriting Award

25th May 2009

Each year The Foundation of The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences administers the Sir Peter Ustinov Television Scriptwriting Award.

The competition is aimed at non-American novice screenwriters under the age of thirty. Entrants are asked to create a completed half-hour to one-hour (commercial length) English-language television drama script for a family audience.

The deadline for submissions is July 15, 2009.

The winner will be flown to New York City to be presented with an Award and a $2,500 prize at the International Emmy World Television Festival on November 21, 2009.

The winning script will be read by actors in front of an audience at the Festival, and the winner will be invited to take part in the red carpet festivities at the 37th International Emmy Awards on November 23.

An application form can be downloaded from the web site.

Cannes Winners 2009

25th May 2009

The winners of Cannes Film Festival were announced last night, and of particular interest are the following awards:

Palme d’Or
Das Weiße Band (The White Ribbon)
Written and directed by Michael Haneke

Grand Prix
Un Prophète (A Prophet)
Written by Jacques Audiard, Thomas Bidegain, & Abdel Raouf Dafri, and directed by Jacques Audiard.

Jury Prize
Fish Tank
Written and directed by Andrea Arnold

Bakjwi (Thirst)
Written by Jeong Seo-Gyeong & Park Chan-wook, and directed by Park Chan-wook

Best Screenplay
Spring Fever
Written by Lou Ye

A full list of all the winners is available from the web site.