2008 Stewart Parker Award

29th April 2009

The 2008 Stewart Parker Award for new playwrights was awarded to Newry playwright Abbie Spallen last week at an event in the Abbey Theatre attended by President Mary McAleese.

Two further awards – The BBC Northern Ireland Radio Drama Award and The BBC Northern Ireland Irish Language Drama Award – were awarded to Elaine Murphy and Seán Ó Morónaigh respectively.

Set up in honour of the late Belfast playwright, Stewart Parker, the Stewart Parker Trust seeks to encourage new writing for the theatre in Ireland.

This year marks the 21st anniversary of Parker’s death and the 20th year of the Awards.

Write a Comment