Archive for February 24th, 2009

Write Here, Write Now Winner

24th February 2009

IFTN reports that the inaugural Jameson Dublin International Film Festival and Walt Disney Studios Motion (Ireland) ‘Write Here, Write Now’ screenwriting award has gone to Sonya Gildea for her script Faith.

Gildea will receive at least €7,500 in development funding, as well as extensive promotion within the film industry.

The Judging Panel were: Lenny Abrahamson (Director), David Flynn (United Talent Agency), John Hurt (Actor), Trish Long, (Walt Disney Motion Pictures, Ireland), Sue Bruce Smith (Film Four), and Irvine Welsh (Writer).

The panel also praised Rodney Lee for his script Do Not Pass Go.

Sony Gildea previously wrote and directed the short film “Bua” (Victory), which was a Blindside Production produced by Kirsten Sheridan, and has been behind the shorts “Bodyblow” and “Godless”.

JDIFF ‘09 Winners

24th February 2009

The Jameson Dublin Film Festival has ended and the Audience Award went to the American documentary, Anvil! The Story of Anvil.

The Dublin Film Critics Circle (DFCC) also announced their Awards for the festival:


Tom Hardy – Bronson (Winner)
Toni Servillo – Il Divo
Clint Eastwood – Gran Torino
Meryl Streep – Doubt


Anvil! The Story of Anvil (Winner)
Chris & Don: A Love Story
American Teen
Encounters at the End of the World


The Secret of Kells (Winner)
Five Minutes of Heaven
The Yellow Bittern: The Life and Times of Liam Clancy
The Daisy Chain


Paolo Sorrentino – Il Divo (Winner)
Laurent Cantet – The Class
Werner Herzog – Encounters at the End of the World
Tomas Alfredson – Let The Right One In

Let the Right One In (Winner)
Il Divo
In the Loop
The Class