Archive for February 23rd, 2009

Ocars 2009

23rd February 2009

Last night the winners of the 81st Academy Awards were announced in Los Angeles.

A full list of all the winners can be read on the web site, but here are the categories of most interest to our membership:

Best original screenplay: Milk, written by Dustin Lance Black

Best adapted screenplay: Slumdog Millionaire, written by Simon Beaufoy; based on the novel by Vikas Swarup.

Slumdog Millionaire went on to win another seven Oscars, including Best Film, and Best Director for Danny Boyle.

2008 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony

23rd February 2009

Highlights from the second annual ZeBBie Awards Ceremony in Dublin, staged on the 26 November 2008.

Voted on by the members of the Irish Playwrights and Screenwriters Guild, the ZeBBies honour outstanding writing for Radio, Stage and Screen by Irish writers.

The winners of the 2008 ZeBBie Awards:

  • Best Television Script: Mark O’Halloran for Prosperity (Episode 3, “Georgie’s Story”)
  • Best Radio Script: Lucy Caldwell for Girl From Mars
  • Best Theatre Script: Christian O’Reilly for Is this about Sex?
  • Best Film Script: Martin McDonagh for In Bruges
  • Honorary Services to Writers Award: Writers’ Guilds of America