Archive for October 10th, 2008

2008 ZeBBies Qualifiers

10th October 2008

Members of the Irish Playwrights and Screenwriters Guild are invited to nominate Irish writers for the second ZeBBies Awards in the following four categories:

  • Best Radio script
  • Best Film script
  • Best Television script
  • Best Theatre script

The ZeBBies are annual awards created by the Guild — named in honour of O. Z. Whitehead — to acknowledge the best script(s) written by Irish playwrights and screenwriters during the previous year.

To qualify each project must have been:

  • Released to an Irish audience in the period between the 1 July, 2007 — 30 June, 2008
  • Written by an Irish writer, or a writer normally resident in Ireland

A master list of qualifying work is available on the Guild website. Despite our best efforts there may be errors or ommissions in the list. Please inform us of any corrections.

Please send us a maximum of three nominations in each of the four categories, however you can offer fewer or no nominations in any of the categories if you wish.

The closing date for receipt of nominations is next Friday, the 17th October at 17.30.

Nominations can be made by post, by hand, or by e-mail (contact details below). All members — full or associate — of the Guild are entitled to nominate.

The short-list of nominated scripts will be available to all current members for reading and voting via the guild website during November.

Tickets for the Awards Ceremony, which will take place on Tuesday 25th November, will be on sale from the middle of next week: numbers are limited, so please purchase quickly to avoid disappointment.

Contact Details
The Irish Playwrights and Screenwriters Guild
Phone: 01-670-9970
Address: Art House, Curved Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2.

Calling Young Screenwriters

10th October 2008

The Galway Advertiser reports that the Galway Junior Film Fleadh is looking for submissions for its junior screenwriting competition.

The competition is open to those aged between 13 and 18 years old. Entrants must write a 500 word idea for a story which could be for a feature film, short film, a documentary, book, or video game!

The Junior Galway Film Fleadh is encouraging Galway teens to draft their idea, and then practise to family and friends performing the story outline. Five ideas will then be selected and the five authors will be asked to present it on the stage of the Town Hall Theatre from November 12 to 14.

Each idea will be critiqued by the award winning Irish screenwriter, Christian O’Reilly (Inside I’m Dancing, On Home Ground), and following this, the assembled audience will vote on the best pitch/idea.

The first prize is a script training scholarship at the Galway Film Centre. The runner up will receive a book voucher for Charlie Byrne’s book shop.

The deadline for entries is October 24. Entries can be posted to the Junior Galway Film Fleadh Script Competition, Cluain Mhuire, Monivea Road, Galway, or emailed to

More information and entry forms are available from,,, and Charlie Byrne’s Bookshop, Middle Street, Galway.

Filmbase Awards 08

10th October 2008

Four projects have been chosen for the June round of the Filmbase/RTÉ Short Film Award

The winning projects are:

  • Sunshower — written and directed by Liam Gavin, & produced by Maggie Mitchell.
  • The Pool — written and directed by Thomas Hefferon, & produced by Fiona Kinsella.
  • The Mill — written and directed by David Freyne, & produced by Rachael O’Kane.
  • A Blood Coloured Moon — written by Barry McKinley, directed by Marc-Ivan O’Gorman, & produced by Gordon Murphy.

An extra award was made in this round to replace a previous short that did not proceed to production.

The deadline for the next round is 5pm, Friday 30th January 2009, and it will return to offering three awards.