Archive for February 25th, 2008

Writers Guild Awards 2008

25th February 2008

Announced with little fanfare a couple of weeks ago while the WGA strike was ongoing, the list of winners of the Writers Guild Awards 2008 is worth reading through.

It honours dramatic writing across a comprehensive range of categories such as film, television, documentaries, radio, video games, and even promotional writing. It’s voted upon by WGA members, and thus is a strong indication of the type of writing that writers admire.

Irish Theatre Awards 2008

25th February 2008

Theatre Forum Ireland posted a complete list of the winners from the Irish Times Theatre Awards 2008. Of interest is:

Best new play
Seán McLoughlin for Noah and the Tower Flower, produced by Fishamble.

Highlights of last night’s ceremony will be screened on RTÉ 1 tonight at 11.20pm.

Spirit Awards 2008

25th February 2008

Award season breaks into a gallop towards the end. Last night the Film Independent Spirit Awards were handed out. I’ve cherry-picked the winners of most interest to our members:

Best First Screenplay
Diablo Cody for Juno

Best Foreign Film
Director/Writer: John Carney for Once

Best Screenplay
Tamara Jenkins for The Savages

Theatregoers Choice 2008

25th February 2008

The British Theatregoers Choice Awards were announced at the weekend. Guild members will be interested in the following award:

All About My Mother by Samuel Adamson – at the Old Vic

The other nominees in the category:

A Disappearing Number
by Complicite – at the Barbican
Joe Guy by Roy Williams – at Soho Theatre
Landscape with Weapon by Joe Penhall – at the NT Cottesloe
That Face by Polly Stenham – at the Royal Court Upstairs
War Horse by Nick Stafford – at the NT Olivier

Irish actress Fiona Shaw also picked up the Best Solo Performance Award for Happy Days at the NT Lyttelton.

Oscars 2008

25th February 2008

The BBC has the full list of winners from this year’s Oscar ceremonies. Two categories are of particular interest:

Best original screenplay
Winner – Juno, written by Diablo Cody.

Best adapted screenplay
Winner – No Country For Old Men written by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen, from the novel by Cormac McCarthy .

RTÉ also reports on the win by Dubliner Glen Hansard and Czech singer Markéta Irglová for the Best Music (Song) Oscar: “Falling Slowly” from the Irish film Once.