Archive for January 21st, 2008

Irish Theatre Awards Shortlist

21st January 2008 by Maura McHugh

RTÉ reports that the nominees for the 2008 Irish Times Irish Theatre Awards have been announced.

The playwrights nominated in the Best New Play category are: Sebastian Barry (The Pride of Parnell Street), Michael Harding (The Tinker’s Curse), Sean McLoughlin (Noah and the Tower Flower) and Mark O’Rowe (Terminus).

The winners will be announced in Dublin on Sunday 24 February.

Frameworks Deadline

21st January 2008 by Maura McHugh

The Irish Film Board has announced the deadline for the short animation scheme Frameworks as Wednesday, March 12th.

Frameworks is an established scheme for the making of animated short films which has been incredibly successful in stimulating ground-breaking new work from Irish animators. Projects selected for funding will combine creative exploration with an ability to appeal to a broad audience.

Recent successes of this scheme include Blind Man’s Eye directed by Matthew Talbot-Kelly made Official Selection at the prestigious Venice Film Festival 2007 while it was announced earlier this week that The Crumblegiant, directed by John McCloskey has been nominated for a BAFTA for Best Short Animation.

The scheme is co-funded by BSÉ/IFB, the Arts Council and RTÉ.